Rice cheese is a cheese substitute made from rice products. Lactose-free and soy-free, rice cheese is a product popular among consumers who are allergic to or choose not to consume dairy products. It's different from other cheese substitutes which typically are made from soy beans, making it an ideal for those with both a dairy and a soy allergy, or those who do not eat dairy but do favor soy cheeses.

Rice cheese is created from rice with casein, oils, and cheese-flavored seasonings. Casein is a milk protein, but is used in such small amounts that typically doesn't offend those with dairy allergies. Because of the miniscule amount of casein, rice cheese is usually billed as lactose-free. Casein is a protein much like gluten which is found in wheat products. It is used as a binding agent to hold the rice and oils together.


Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.