Name Variations Edit

  • ricotta
  • gjetost

About Whey cheeses Edit

Wikipedia Article About Whey cheeses on Wikipedia

Whey or milk plasma is the liquid remaining after milk has been curdled and strained; it is a by-product of the manufacture of cheese or casein and has several commercial uses. Whey is used to produce ricotta and gjetost cheeses and is used to make many other products for human consumption and as an animal feed. Whey proteins mainly consist of α-lactalbumin and β-lactoglobulin. Depending on the method of manufacture, it may also contain glycomacropeptides (GMP).

Whey is now marketed in two forms, which are related to the processing method for the product: Whey protein concentrate (WPC) and Whey protein isolate (WPI).

The whey protein separated from this mixture is often sold as a nutritional supplement. In addition, liquid whey contains lactose, vitamins, and minerals along with traces of fat. Researchers at Lund University in Sweden discovered that whey appears to stimulate insulin release. Writing in the American Journal of Clinical Nutrition[1] they also discovered that whey supplements can help regulate and reduce spikes in blood sugar levels among people with type 2 diabetes by increasing Insulin secretion. It also promotes muscle growth and fat release from Adipose tissues by increasing insulin (see effects of insulin) secretion, which is good for bodybuilding.

Whey is made from curdled milk. A good guide to extracting Whey in a Vegetarian manner can be found on the guide for making Paneer (see Prep section). As the most commonly used curdling agent is rennet, neither whey, curd, nor cheese automatically qualify as vegetarian foods. Vegetarians generally use vegetable-source rennet or lemon juice (or pure citric acid or sulfuric acid) to separate milk into curds and whey. Anybody who buys Whey should check for Vegetarian suitability.

The whey protein separated from this mixture is often sold as a nutritional supplement. It can also be used industrially as an egg albumen replacement. In addition, liquid whey may contain lactose, vitamins, and minerals and traces of fat.

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.